University of Florida

Winter Squash

Squash are classified into two groups depending on when they were traditionally eaten. Winter squash have hard rinds and can be stored for up to six months, while summer squash must be eaten right away. Popular types of winter squash include butternut, acorn, pumpkin, and spaghetti. They usually have orange or yellow flesh, and come in many flavors, shapes, and sizes. They're very nutritious and provide vitamin A, vitamin C, and potassium.

Squash are typically vining plants that require considerable growing space. For small gardens, build a trellis, or look for bush or semi-vining types. And even though the name says winter, they should be planted in spring or fall.

UF/IFAS Publications

Also on Gardening in a Minute

Other Sites

Winter squash

Vegetable Gardening
Looking for a Show?